Tips
Links
Members
Message Board
Other Fiero Clubs
VIN Decoder
Speed Calculator
GFC Facebook Page

Author Topic: Newbie!  (Read 3299 times)

harley43

• View Profile
Newbie!
« on: September 07, 2021, 06:10:36 pm »
Hi.  I am new to Atlanta, and new to Fieros.  After having seen one on a car transport and finally figuring out what it was, I am interested in a red '88 GT.  I did a web search, and about half of the first page of results were from this site.  After reading through some threads, I registered.

I want to learn more before I purchase, which should give me time to find what I'm looking for.

Reed
« Last Edit: September 07, 2021, 06:21:55 pm by harley43 »

Raydar

• Paid Members
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie!
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2021, 06:52:59 pm »
Welcome to our obsession!
88 GTs are pretty much the "holy grail". At least according to some folks. But it's all a matter of taste.
Formulas - and even base 88 coupes - have essentially the same suspension, with the exception of the base car not having the rear sway bar.
Formulas also have the V6 engine and GT instrumentation.

The good news is that, if you have your mind set on a red 88 GT, most of the 88 GTs produced are, in fact, bright red. Will help to make your search easier.
The bad news is that people are asking a premium for these cars. Even high mileage ones.

My latest project is an 88 base coupe (remember... essentially the same suspension hardware as the GT) that I bought to perform an engine swap. I have already rebuilt the suspension and brakes. Just waiting for the opportunity to give it an infusion of cubic inches, valves and cams, and horsepower. But I paid approximately 20% of what these GT sellers are asking.

It's really all based upon what you want, and are willing to spend. (I'm a skinflint at heart, so there ya' go. :D )

« Last Edit: September 07, 2021, 06:54:47 pm by Raydar »

pgackerman

• Paid Members
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2021, 06:57:23 pm »