Tips
Links
Members
Message Board
Other Fiero Clubs
VIN Decoder
Speed Calculator
GFC Facebook Page

Author Topic: has anyone played with tuning?  (Read 17922 times)

f85gtron

• View Profile
has anyone played with tuning?
« on: February 10, 2015, 11:48:40 am »
I'm curious about tuning.  I'm running an 85 ecm and wonder if the benefits switching to a 7730 ecm are actually there.  Anyone with experience please chime in. I'm dangerously close to gathering materials for a 7730 as we speak, but am a little nervous about buying a chip that i have no experience with these chip burning companies.....or should i burn them myself?
Ron
85 GT manual NOW powered by 7730
3.4 bored to 3.5, cammed out and DIS'd
F23 connecting power to ground
My wife won't ride in it. It's "the other woman" ;)

Fierofool

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Georgia Fiero Club
Re: has anyone played with tuning?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 06:21:41 pm »
One of the benefits of the 7730 is the speed of upgrade and response.  It's about 10 times faster than the stock ECM.  You may not need custom tuning of a 7730 chip and you probably won't get the same performance out of a tuned stock chip. 

If you don't want to install an aftermarket crankshaft sensor and DIS on the engine, you can run the system off the distributor, add a knock sensor in place of one of the freeze plugs, the fan switch, or in place of a bolt about mid-block on the muffler side of the engine.  With the 7730 setup you would remove the problematic vacuum EGR system and install the digital EGR valve using (drumroll) the Digital EGR Adapter Kit sold by Georgia Fieros. 

Raydar has done some chip burning, maybe he'll offer some info and advice. 
There are three kinds of men:

1.    The ones that learn by reading.
2.    The few who learn by observation.
3.    The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence and find out for themselves.    Will Rogers

pgackerman

• Paid Members
    • View Profile